8 Comments
author

I watched 13 LIVES directed by Ron Howard on Netflix last night. So powerful. A beautiful reminder of shared joy when we all come together for good.

Expand full comment

I love this question! I’m reading Rooted by Lyanda Lynn Haupt and it’s inspiring me to connect more with nature. I also loved The Bear and have been very intrigued by Nathan Felder’s The Rehearsal on HBO. Also loving your newsletter! :)

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2022Liked by Mary Thoma

I just finished watching The Bear on Hulu - series for foodies but also about addiction. Very true to life and the characters are wonderfully-drawn. Trying to put a toe out more into the world right now since Michael has been sick (pneumonia) for literally two months and is finally getting better. But finding myself still so fearful of COVID and wondering if it will ever get better. Cousins visiting from California and Texas (yes, they tested first) for dinner tonight were a shot in the arm emotionally, as was being with kids and grandkids this weekend. Family and close friends are everything to me right now.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2022Liked by Mary Thoma

I’ve been so exhausted being in summer school. A few close friends are going through trying times and I’ve been feeling their pain so deeply. A few things that are helping me keep my head above water is watching birds at the feeders I have put out, Mary Oliver poetry, because she micro focuses on nature forcing me to look close too, and then she breaks my heart open with the last few lines because they are always so human Seeing my daughter growing up brings me joy too. I want to do well because she looks up to me so, I want to be the person she thinks I am.

Expand full comment